College of Science

Environmental Science MS

Faculty

Contacting potential advisors

Direct communication with potential faculty mentors is a key component of the application decision process for both PSM and Thesis applicants. We strongly encourage prospective students to visit our faculty directory and read about their areas of interest and ongoing research. Once you are familiar with their areas of specialty, please email professors to set up a time to either talk on the phone or meet with them here on campus.

A picture of Dr. Susan Alexander standing in front of a grassy field

Susan Alexander

salexander@csumb.edu

Lab: CSUMB NASA Ames Cooperative Agreement

Research Areas

  • Ecology
  • Environmental Science
  • Ecosystem processes
Image of Liz Alter above a tidepool

Elizabeth Alter

ealter@csumb.edu

LabThe Alter Lab

Research Areas

  • Molecular ecology and population genomics of aquatic organisms (particularly fishes and marine mammals)
  • Environmental DNA
  • Phylogenetics
Jennifer Duggan Headshot

Jennifer Duggan

jduggan@csumb.edu

Lab: Terrestrial Wildlife Ecology

Research Areas

  • Conservation biology
  • Landscape ecology
  • Animal behavior
Jose Pablo Dundore- Arias headshot

Jose Pablo Dundore-Arias

jdundorearias@csumb.edu

Lab: The Plant Pathology Lab

Research Areas

  • Plant pathology
  • Phytobiomes
  • Plant and soil health
Daniel Fernandez headshot

Daniel Fernandez

dfernandez@csumb.edu

Lab: The Fernandez Lab

Research Areas

  • Physics
  • Sustainability and alternative energy
  • Fog water collection
Corey Garza Headshot

Corey Garza

cogarza@csumb.edu

Lab: Marine Landscape Ecology Lab

Coastal and Marine Ecosystems Program

Research Areas

  • Marine landscape ecology
  • Intertidal community dynamics
  • Geospatial technology
John Goeltz Headshot

John Goeltz

jgoeltz@csumb.edu

LabApplied Electrochemistry

Research Areas

  • Electrochemistry for energy, the environment, biology, and marine science
  • Water chemistry and sensors
Arlene Haffa and her dog on a hike

Arlene Haffa

ahaffa@csumb.edu

LabThe Haffa Lab

Research Areas

  • Sustainable agriculture
  • Climate change
  • Microbial bioremediation
Alison Haupt headshot

Alison Haupt

ahaupt@csumb.edu

Lab: Coastal Ecology Lab

Research Areas

  • Kelp forest ecology
  • Anthropogenic effects on marine ecosystems
  • Population connectivity
  • Conservation genetics
Nathaniel Jue headshot

Nathaniel Jue

njue@csumb.edu

LabGenomics & Bioinformatics Lab

Research Areas

  • Functional, evolutionary, and ecological genomics
  • Bioinformatics
James Lindholm in SCUBA gear

James Lindholm

jlindholm@csumb.edu

LabMarine Science Research

The Research Diving Program

Video Image Analysis Lab

Research Areas

  • Sub-tidal ecology
  • Approaches to image analysis
  • Science-policy interface
Cheryl Logan headshot

Cheryl Logan

clogan@csumb.edu

LabEnvironmental Physiology Lab

Research Areas

  • Marine ecological physiology
  • Climate change biology
Steve Moore headshot

Steve Moore

stmoore@csumb.edu

Lab: Ecosystem Electronics Lab

Research Areas

  • Benthic marine ecology
  • ROV engineering
  • Biomechanics
John Olson headshot

John Olson

joolson@csumb.edu

LabWatershed Environments and Ecology Lab

Research Areas

  • Freshwater ecology
  • Water quality
  • Bioassessment
Sherry Palacios headshot

Sherry Palacios

spalacios@csumb.edu

LabBiological Oceanography Lab

Research Areas

  • Phytoplankton biodiversity
  • Meso-scale ocean features
  • Remote sensing
  • Aquatic optics
Aparna Sreenivasan headshot

Aparna Sreenivasan

asreenivasan@csumb.edu

LabThe Sreenivasan Lab

Research Areas

  • Molecular biology
  • Genetics
Image of Dr. Fred Watson

Fred Watson

fwatson@csumb.edu

LabThe Watson Lab

Research Areas

  • Conservation, land use, planning, and recreation
  • Ecology of plants and wildlife
  • Hydrology
  • Cartography, Geographic Information Systems, and Remote Sensing
Suzanne Worcester headshot

Suzanne Worcester

sworcester@csumb.edu

Research Areas

  • Conservation biology
  • Environmental communication
  • Restoration ecology