College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Honoring Staff & Faculty Years of Service-2022

Congratulations to CAHSS staff and faculty celebrating service awards in 2022:

  • 25 Years 
    • Yong Lao, Social, Behavioral & Global Studies
    • Yoshiko Saito-Abbott, World Languages & Cultures
    • Angie Ngoc Tran, Social Behavioral & Global Studies
  • 20 Years
    • Axil Cricchio, Psychology
    • Ed Moos, World Languages & Cultures
    • Bill Steacy, Music & Performing Arts
    • John Swanson, Humanities & Communication
    • Lisa Watson, Humanities & Communication
  • 15 Years
    • Rebecca Bales, Social, Behavioral & Global Studies
    • Jennifer Fletcher, Humanities & Communication
    • Enid Ryce, Cinematic Arts & Technology
    • Shigeko Sekine, World Languages & Cultures
    • Umi Vaughan, Humanities & Communication
    • Maria Villasenor, Humanities & Communication
  • 10 Years
    • Meghan O'Donnell, Humanities & Communication and Social, Behavioral & Global Studies
    • Glorian Provost, Humanities & Communication
    • Steev White, Visual & Public Art
  • 5 Years
    • Jesus Aguilar, Visual & Public Art
    • Linda Jenkins, Office of the Dean
    • Allison Le, World Theater
    • Jennifer Lovell, Psychology
    • Glenn Maxon, World Theater
    • Pablo Oliva, World Languages & Cultures
    • Christine Valdez

Employees received their pins and recognition at the return of the annual Staff & Faculty Appreciation Breakfast held April 15, 2022.  View the program booklet online here.

CAHSS Faculty & Staff News

Have news to share?  We want to hear from you!  Complete this brief form:

CAHSS faculty and staff highlights submitted for 2021/22 include:

  • CAHSS Associate Dean Kathee Godfrey featured in welcome article from University Communications.
  • CART Media Production Specialist and Lecturer Chris Carpenter served as a producer of the film Roots of Lacross (trailer link), that was awarded a New York Emmy for Best Sports Documentary. The film has traveled through the festival circuit and continues to be programmed worldwide (50+ film festivals). The film company, Honest Engine Films, is led by Joanne Storkan, Principal. Also credited on the film is alum and CART Media Production Specialist Jesse Krohn ('19) - Assistant Producer.  
  • CART Professor Enid Ryce is a collaborator on "The Land of Milk and Honey" project, recent support of a 2-year grant from the Mellon Foundation.  The Land of Milk and Honey will include art exhibitions throughout California with adjacent programming of panel discussions, lectures, and community-based workshops and research-driven border-focused projects. (April, 2022)
  • A piece written by David Reichard on the HCOM major was featured as the CSUMB featured campus profile in the College Civic Learning and Democratic Engagement (CLDE). (Fall 2021)
  • Daniel Summerhill, HCOM Assistant Professor of Poetry/Social Action and Composition Studies, on being named Monterey County's first Poet Laureate! This honor was conferred at the January 11, 2022, Monterey County Board of Supervisors meeting by Jacquie Atcheson, Executive Director of the Arts Council of Monterey County.
  • HCOM Lecturer Nathan Xavier Osorio published his new chapbook, The Last Town Before the Mojave, published in February, 2022, by the Poetry Society of America.
  • HCOM Professor Maria Villaseñor accepted to the San Diego State University's Initiative for Inclusive Leadership program in May, 2022. 
  • SBGS Professor Angie Ngoc Tran was interviewed (October virtual event) by student Kaya Ortega about her recent book: Ethnic Dissent and Empowerment: Economic Migration between Vietnam and Malaysia.
  • A book release celebration was held for SBGS Assistant Professor Chrissy Lau (in partnership with CSUMB Ad Hoc Ethnic Studies Working Group and University College) on the release of her book, The Auntie Sewing Squad Guide to Mask Making, Radical Care, and Racial Justice.
  • SBGS Assistant Professor Tolga Tezcan is serving as host of the Social Science Research & Instructional Center’s Annual Student Symposium (SSRIC)Conference and Meeting. (May 5, 2022)
  • Dr. Stephanie Johnson’s work “Ancestor’s Grove: A Space Journey” was on exhibit at The Gardens at Lake Merritt Autumn Lights Festival October, 2021.
  • Lecturer Jesus Aguilar and his work featured on several news outlets for: San Jose Billboards Promote Vaccinations to Latinx and Vietnamese Communities.
  • Associate Professor Hector Dionicio Mendoza’s work in collaboration with faculty emerita Dr. Amalia Mesa-Bains and staff Steev White was featured at the Montalvo Arts Center in Saratoga (June 16-November 14, 2021): Creando Espacio. This project was made possible in part by a grant from The Creative Work Fund.
  • Chair Angelica Muro and Associate Professor Hector Dionicio Mendoza’s work for “Your Actions Save Lives” campaign partnered with CA artists to reach communities disproportionately impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic was featured in multiple media outlets in Fall 21.
  • Associate Professor Hector Dionicio Mendoza’s sculpture work Common Ground is on exhibit at DeAnza College November 1, 2021-February 19, 2022.
  • Lecturer Juan Luna-Avin’s work was featured in A Change of Struggle exhibition at Petty Cash Art Gallery, Bushwick, NY, September-October, 2021.
  • Alumna Kelsey Rae Thomas (2020) received a Cadogan Contemporary Art Award at the 2021 Annual Murphy and Cadogan Contemporary Art Awards Exhibition (September 11-October 3, 2021).
  • VPA Exhibit Art, Solidarity & the Power of Image was featured on the Monterey County Weekly’s website and in their weekly newsletter as Local Inspiration of the Day. (April 27, 2022)
  • A sculpture by Associate Professor Hector Dionicio Mendoza Honoring Victims of Crime was dedicated at Monterey County Superior Courthouse, Salinas. (April 29, 2022)
  • Dr. Yoshiko Saito-Abbott, Professor of Japanese Language and Cultures, and Ben Bruce, Program Director for the Community Partnership for Youth (CPY), are the winners of the 2022 Marian Penn Partnership Award. Since 2000, the Marian Penn Partnership Award has been presented annually to one faculty/community organization team that reflects the values of the Service Learning Institute, and has made an exceptional contribution to communities through service learning. Named after Marian Penn, the founding Director of the Service Learning Institute, the Penn Partnership Award recognizes the commitment, communication, trust and reciprocity that is at the heart of service learning. (April, 2022)
  • Congratulations to the following faculty nominated for the UROC Undergraduate Research Mentor Award: Zurine DeMiguel, Psychology; Jennifer Dyer-Seymour, Psychology; Jennifer Lovell, Psychology; Shigeko Sekine, World Languages & Cultures; Shannon Snapp, Psychology, and Jill Yamashita, Psychology.