Library Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Library Diversity Committee

To strengthen the library’s commitment to the campus’ Equity and Inclusion Plan, its Mission Statement, and its Vision Statement, the CSUMB Library created the Library Diversity Committee in 2017.

Diversity, inclusive excellence, equity, and social justice are important core components of CSUMB’s history, mission, and vision. Using the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Diversity Standards as a framework, the professional development of cultural competencies by our library employees supports the need and obligation to better serve and advocate for the library’s diverse constituencies in an effective and sensitive manner.

The CSUMB Library’s Diversity Committee is composed of library employees committed to promoting the library’s statement on diversity, and supports the campus’ commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusive excellence. Its purpose is to support the library’s commitment to having an inclusive and welcoming environment for CSUMB students, library employees, faculty, and staff, as well as community members visiting the library. The Library Diversity Committee may conduct climate assessments, provide diversity-related professional development opportunities for library employees, and coordinate diversity-related public programs, events, and exhibits.

  • Chair

    Kelsey Nordstrom-Sanchez, Senior Assistant Librarian


    Joy Camp, Senior Assistant Librarian 
    Jeff Corrigan, Associate Librarian
    Sarah Dahlen, Librarian
    Kenny Garcia, Associate Librarian
    Rachell Hester, Makerspace Coordinator

    Ex Officio Members

    Brian Corpening, Associate Vice President for Inclusive Excellence and Chief Diversity Officer