Vanessa Lopez-Littleton voted Faculty of the Year by CSU student reps

May 12, 2021

Vanessa Lopez-Littleton — associate professor and chair of Health, Human Services & Public Policy — has been selected by the California State Student Association (CSSA) as 2020-21 Faculty of the Year.

The student-led CSSA is a nonprofit that was founded in 1959 and represents more than 482,000 students in the CSU system.

“[We] annually disseminate awards to one student, legislator, administrator, president, trustee, and faculty member of the CSU community,” said Jeanne Tran-Martin, CSSA executive director.

It is given to identify innovation in delivering a quality higher education, and recognizes leadership, collaboration and service of students, administrators, faculty and trustees.

"This is an incredible honor," Lopez-Littleton said. "It's great to be recognized for service to students, particularly as it signals that my work is meaningful to those we serve."

Candidates are nominated by the CSSA board of directors, comprised of student government leaders from each of the 23 CSU campuses, and then voted on at a plenary meeting by the entire board. Lopez-Littleton was nominated by Jaspreet “Jasmine” Bhardwaj, who is president of the Associated Students at CSUMB.

“The award exemplifies Vanessa’s exceptional commitment and conviction in helping students to be successful,” said Allan M. Hoffman, interim dean of the College of Health Sciences and Human Services. “It is well deserved.”