Four CSUMB police officers receive Lifesaving Medals

University Police Department, Vanya QuiƱones and Glen Nelson

University Police Department personnel, President Vanya QuiƱones, CFO Glen Nelson | Photo by Katherine Divas-Juarez

November 4, 2022

On the morning of Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2022, four CSU Monterey Bay police officers received Lifesaving Medals from CSUMB President Vanya Quiñones in a ceremony at the Administration Building. 

The medals were conferred by the CSU Interim Chancellor, Jolene Koester, and the CSU Council of Police Chiefs to “recognize University Police Department (UPD) officers who have bravely and heroically gone above and beyond their normal duties in serving the public.” 

The four CSUMB officers were commended for learning about, training in, and eventually using opioid overdose reversal medications to save lives on or near campus. 

CSUMB Police Corporal Heather Murphy, and Officers Louis Deeb and Joseph Cox received medals for responding to an opioid overdose of a student in a residence hall. The officers administered two doses of opioid medication Narcan at the scene which revived the student. 

CSUMB Sgt. Manuel Fernandez received a medal for assisting Seaside police officers at a vehicle collision near campus in which both the driver and passenger had overdosed on fentanyl. Fernandez administered doses of Naloxone to the passenger, who regained consciousness. The driver also survived. 

CSUMB’s police department had been one of the first in Monterey County to start a Narcan program and train its officers in its use as counterfeit Percocet/fentanyl overdoses in the county were rising. The program was started by Cpl. Murphy, who helped save the student’s life.

“We thank you so much for your service, and appreciate all you do to keep the campus and the community safe,” said President Quiñones at the Nov. 1 medal ceremony as she shook hands with all the officers and posed for pictures. 

Also in attendance were the Vice President of Administration and Finance and Chief Financial Officer, Glen Nelson; Deputy Chief of Police, John Short; and Chief of Police and Associate Vice President for Public Safety, Earl Lawson.