CSUMB’s Joy Brittain Receives Walter O. Mason Award

September 18, 2018


SEASIDE, Ca., September 18, 2018 – The Council for Opportunity in Education (COE) honored Joy Brittain, Senior Director of Early Outreach and Support Programs at CSUMB with the national Walter O. Mason Award for her service within the TRIO programs with the United States Department of Education.


Joy is always looking toward a wider horizon that many of us do not even see. Her efforts to build and improve are evident throughout the country. This award recognizes Joy for her selfless dedication to low-income, first generation and students with disabilities.”

— V. Kaye Monk-Morgan, 2017-2018 Board Chair, Council for Opportunity in Education.

The Walter O. Mason Award is the highest honor awarded by the Council for Opportunity in Education and recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions to college opportunity programs and the advancement of educational opportunity for low-income, first-generation students and students with disabilities.

Walter O. Mason is credited as one of the creators of the Federal TRIO programs and this prestigious award is the highest national honor given by the Council for Opportunity in Education, for distinguished service and leadership.


TRIO changed me, and continues to change me. I am a better person, a better educator and a better minister because of the lives I have been so honored to help change. More importantly, those same lives have also helped to change me.”

— Joy Brittain, Senior Director of Early Outreach and Support Programs at CSUMB