Financial Aid

Types of Financial Aid for Undergraduate Students

There are several different types of financial aid that you can receive including grants, scholarships, CSUMB awards, loans, and work-study. This page provides an overview of the different types of aid you may be eligible for as an undergraduate student. Most of these awards require a FAFSA or CADAA submitted by the priority deadline. 


Grants are a form of financial aid that is awarded based on financial need as determined by the FAFSA. These grants do not need to be repaid unless you withdraw from the university or receive a grant when you are not eligible.


Loans are a form of financial aid that accrues interest and must be paid back.

Federal work study and student employment

Federal Work-Study is a federally funded program that provides employment opportunities to students with the highest financial need. Placement is limited.

There are a wide variety of job opportunities for students, both on- and off-campus. Most students are paid directly by their employers. Others are paid through the Federal Work-Study program, which includes a component for Community Service Federal Work-Study.

Scholarships & Awards

Another way to help meet your cost of attendance is to obtain scholarships. Scholarships will reduce your financial responsibility dollar-for-dollar.

External Scholarships

The CSUMB Financial Aid Office has compiled a list of external scholarships that are offered through private agencies and organizations. Please be advised the CSUMB Financial Aid Office is impartial to the views and opinions of the scholarships complied in the list.


Other types of aid includes fee waivers.

Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE)

WUE is a scholarship program with the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE). Students pay a reduced out-of-state tuition fee equal to 150% of California resident tuition. Many western states have agreements with the WUE program, including:

Alaska, Arizona, California, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), Guam, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, & Wyoming.

Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP)

WRGP allows out-of-state graduate students to pay in-state tuition.  Students may submit an application if their main residency is one of the following states or regions: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, Republic of Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam.