University Corporation


The University Corporation at Monterey Bay (the "Corporation") is an auxiliary organization of The California State University governed by the California Education Code §8900 et seq. and the administrative regulations of The California State University as set forth in Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations. 

The Corporation has a governing Board of Directors comprised of the University President serving as the Board President, the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs serving as the Board Secretary/Treasurer, the Vice President for Student Affairs, a faculty representative, a staff representative, a student representative, and at least one community member.

The Board of Directors handles matters of policy. Operational decisions and implementation of policy are the responsibility of Corporation management.

2021/22 Board of Directors

Eduardo M. Ochoa, Ph.D.

Board President

CSUMB President

Katherine Kantardjieff, Ph.D.


Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs

John Fraire, Ph.D.


Interim Vice President of Student Affairs

Robert C. Taylor, Esq.


Chair of the Investment Committee

Member of the Audit Committee

Community Member - Attorney at Law

Maria Bellumori, Ph.D. 


Faculty Representative

Barbara Zappas


CEO of the Foundation of CSUMB 

Mary Jo Zenk


Staff Representative

David Ledesma


Student Representative

Lawrence Samuels 

Executive Director, University Corporation at Monterey Bay