Strategic Initiatives

Government Relations

Governmental and External Relations is the liaison function between the campus, community and government. Our mission is to build and foster CSUMB’s working relationships with elected officials and government agencies (local, state, and federal) whose decisions impact CSUMB's future. In the process, Governmental and External Relations advances the university by establishing support for CSUMB, the California State University and public higher education.

  • CSU Board of Trustees: The 25-member Board of Trustees adopts regulations and policies governing the entire CSU system. Board committees have authority over educational policy, finance, campus planning, and facilities, among other areas.
  • Sovereign Authority: As an entity of the State of California, with sovereign authority, the California State University (CSU), including CSUMB, is not subject to a local jurisdiction’s (city, county or otherwise) fees, ordinances, regulations, rules, policies, etc. 
  • CSUMB works closely with its community and elected officials.
  • Advocacy and State Relations: ​The Office of Advocacy and State Relations advocates for the interests of the California State University with the state's government. ASR does so with the help of t​he Chancellor's Office, the CSU's 2​3 campuses, alumni, and other supporters.
  • Underlying Jurisdictions: The campus occupies approximately 1,396 acres in the northwestern portion of the former U.S. Department of the Army (Army) Fort Ord military base and lies within three separate governmental jurisdictional boundaries: the City of Marina, the City of Seaside, and unincorporated Monterey County. 

Campus Delegation

  1. City of Marina 
  2. City of Seaside 
  3. Monterey County Board of Supervisors - District 2 (North Salinas)  
  4. Monterey County Board of Supervisors - District 4 (Marina and Seaside) 
  5. Monterey County Board of Supervisors - District 5 (Monterey)
  6. CA State Assembly (District 29) - Assembly Member Mark Stone
  7. CA State Senate (District 17) - Senator John Laird
  8. U.S. House of Representatives, 20th Congressional District - Congressman Jimmy Panetta
  9. U.S. Senator Alex Padilla
  10.  U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein 

Community Outreach


Nicole Hollingsworth
Director, Governmental and External Relations

Contact Nicole