Networking

The following individuals are professional friends of the Psychology department. They are open to CSUMB students reaching out to them:

Melissa A. Rhea, Ed.D., CDV

Director of Evaluation & Quality- Western/Pacific Island Regions for WestCare Foundation, Inc.

Open to meeting with students face-to-face or via web-conference in small groups (10-15) with the possibility of working collaboratively on internships focused on program evaluation, research, and quality improvement in the field of addiction studies (i.e., substance abuse prevention, treatment, and outreach), mental and behavioral health, or public health (i.e., HIV, Hepatitis B/C, Veterans Administration or primary health,etc.). Possess almost 15 years of research and evaluation experience, and been a Lead Evaluator on numerous multi-million dollar federally-funded grant projects.

melissa.rhea@westcare.com, (559) 708-8172, westcare.com

Cathi Draper-Rodriguez, Ph.D.

Professor of Education and Leadership, School Psychology, CSUMB

cdraper-rodriguez@csumb.edu

Julia Altman, Ph.D., MSW

Professor of Social Work, CSUMB

jaltman@csumb.edu, (831) 582-5378

Carol Biddle

Open to meeting with small groups of students that want to discuss child welfare, child/family mental health careers as she has 30+ years developing and leading those programs.

cbiddle@myriadsp.com

Alycia Perez

Military Psychology

alycia.usher.perez@gmail.com

Marty Wiskoff

Military psychology

wiskoff@aol.com

Richard Elster

Would like to meet with individual or small groups of students interested in the following: hearing how public policies at the Federal level are made, applications of industrial/organizational psychology, and quantitative analysis in Department of Defense.

relster@pacbell.net

Jennifer Rigney, Ph.D.

I would love to meet with students who are interested in learning more about applying their psychology background to program evaluation or visitor studies. At the Aquarium we’re also involved with an emerging field of psychology called conservation psychology, which seeks to apply psychology to conservation-related problems (e.g., understanding of climate change,motivation to engage in conservation-promoting behaviors, etc.). I’d be happy to speak with students interested in conservation psychology as well.

jrigney@mbayaq.org

831-648-4825