Office of the President

Presidential Search

The California State University Board of Trustees has launched a nationwide search for the next president of California State University Monterey Bay.

Following CSU policy, the Chair of the CSU Trustees, Lillian Kimbell, appointed a Trustees Committee for the Selection of the President as listed below. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from the faculty, staff, students, and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus's constituency groups per their selection criteria. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus—both selected by the chancellor in consultation with the Board Chair. Both committees function as one unified group in the search process.

Members of the campus and surrounding communities participated in a virtual open forum with the Trustees Committee for the Selection of President on Feb. 8, 2022. The purpose of the open forum was for the Committee to learn about the type of leader for which the campus and surrounding communities are looking.

Search resources


Presidential search policy

Leadership Profile

SP&A Executive Search

The search will be conducted by SP&A Executive Search.

To submit questions or nominations:

Send an Email

Share your thoughts

To provide input regarding professional qualifications, experiences, and personal attributes you think the next president of CSUMB must possess to be successful, please submit your comments via the survey.

Take the Survey

Virtual open forum

The virtual open forum occurred on Tuesday, Feb. 8, from noon to 2 p.m. Members of the public voiced their comments in this live, open forum and gleaned insight on the process of the presidential search. This is the only presidential committee meeting open to the public.

View or listen

CSUMB Presidential Search Committee

Trustees Committee for the Selection of President

... Chancellor, California State University
Lillian Kimbell Chair, Board of Trustees
Julia I. Lopez Trustee and Chair, Search Committee
Adam Day Trustee
Douglas Faigin Trustee
Maria Linares Trustee


Advisory Committee to the Trustees Committee for the Selection of President

Saúl Jiménez-Sandoval Fresno State, CSU President Representative
Andrew Lawson Dean of the College of Science, Administration Representative
Sam Robinson Chair, Academic Senate
Vanessa Lopez-Littleton Faculty Representative
Rob Weisskirch Faculty Representative
Vivian Waldrup-Patterson Staff Representative
Ethan Anthony Quaranta Student Representative
Dolores Diane Ruiz Student Representative
Karen Purdy Alumni Representative
Deborah Juran Foundation Board Representative
Kiran Kamath Community Representative
Bettye J. Saxon Community Representative